Stefan Hyde Wins J24 National Championships at Foynes Yacht Club (

IMG_0698 (640x480)

J24 National Champions – Maurice Johnson and Partners – RCYC

(LtoR Killian Dickson, Gareth Nolan, John Malone, Stefan Hyde, Graeme Grant)

The J24 National Championships concluded at Foynes Yacht Club today in a light to moderate westerly breeze. OOD Derek Bothwell was able to start on schedule for the first time this weekend after hours spent waiting around for wind. Race six of the championships got off to a clear start with the fleet splitting both left and right on the course in a flooding tide. Gala Racing, who went right on the first beat and left on the second, got their first win of the championships followed by HYC’s under 25 team Scandal in 2nd and Tim Corcoran on Crazyhorse in third.

Full Results Below

As the tide strengthened and wind lightened the race course was shortened before the start of the final race of the event. Flor O’Driscoll tacked off to the right immediately after the start keeping further right than any other boat and emerged with a clear lead by the windward mark. A battle for second developed between Jibe, Crazyhorse and Jumpin Jive who exchanged places numerous times on both the upwind and downwind legs with Crazyhorse finishing in 2nd just ahead of Jumpin Jive.

J24 Nationals 2018 (7)

J24 Under 25 National Champions 2018 – Scandal – HYC

With the championship complete and boats lifted out attention turned to the prizegiving. There were multiple changes in positions in the fleet after the final two races. In Gold, Royal Cork Yacht Club’s Stefan Hyde on Maurice Johnson and Partners is the new J24 National Champion for 2018. The new under 25 National Champion is Harry Cronin and Scandal from Howth Yacht Club.

A number of initiatives brought in for this year’s event were very successful. The trialling of On the Water Judging conducted by Gordon Davies was well received by the competitors. Also the introduction of a Bronze Fleet made for competitive sailing for all competitors.

The association acknowledged the support of the sponsors of the event and ICRA for their support and finally the host club and its members for a great weekend of sailing!

GOLD Fleet

1st – Maurice Johnson and Partners – Stefan Hyde
2nd – Crazyhorse – Tim Corcoran
3rd – Hard on Port – Flor O’Driscoll

1st – Gala Racing – Simon McGibney
2nd – FYC Under 25 Team – Michael Lynch
3rd – Kilcullen – Colin O’Sullivan

1st – Jevan – Ken Draper/Adam Sutor
2nd – Blue Jay – Brian McDowell
3rd – NUIG Galway – Aaron O’Reilly

1st – Scandal – Harry Cronin       (Under 25 National Champion)
2nd – FYC Under 25 – Michael Lynch
3rd – Kilcullen – Colin O’Sullivan

Leave a Reply